The Parliamentary Committees

The 20 parliamentary committees of the European Parliament are the “specialised” entities in which most of the legislative work is undertaken. They meet publicly once or twice a month in Brussels to prepare community legislation (regulations, directives, etc.).

For each legislative text put forward by the European Commission, the competent committee at the European Parliament appoints a “rapporteur” who writes a draft report, which he presents to the members of his parliamentary committee. Together they study and suggest amendments to the draft before adopting them via a vote.

The report, which is approved by the committee, is then ready for adoption during the plenary session.

The political distribution of the committee members reflects the political composition of the European Parliament.

All of the MEPs are members of a parliamentary committee and substitute members of another.

The European Parliament can also create temporary committees (e.g. the temporary committee on climate change), sub-committees (e.g. the Security and Defence sub-committee, which answers to the Foreign Affairs Commission), as well as Committees of Inquiry, and special committees.

The Special Committees

The special committees are temporary entities created to deal with specific problems. The Parliament can create these committees at any time with a mandate of 12 months that can be extended.

A special committee on terrorism was set up on 14th September 2017.

A special committee on the procedure to authorise the use of pesticides by the Union was established on 2nd February 2018.

A special committee on financial crime, tax fraud and tax evasion was established on 1st March 2018.

Prior to this there was a special committee on:
• Tax rulings and other similar measures due to their nature or their effect (TAXE) established on 12th February 2015, whose work was finalised on 30th November 2015.
• Tax Rulings and other similar measures due to their nature or their effect (TAXE 2) established on 2nd December 2015, whose work was finalised on 2nd August 2016.

The Committee of Inquiry

The Committees of Inquiry, whose powers are based on the European Parliament’s supervisory power are responsible for investigating breaches of community law or allegations of poor administration in the implementation of EU law.

Two Committees of Inquiry have been established during this legislature 2014-2019 :
• on the measurement of emissions in the automotive sector (EMIS) established on 17th December 2015, whose work was finalised on 4th April 2017.
• on money laundering, tax avoidance and tax fraud (PANA) established on 8th June 2016, whose work was finalised on 13th December 2017.
→ To see the full list of parliamentary committees, click here

Standing Committees

Since July 2019, the Chairs and Vice- Chairs of the committees have been:


Foreign Affairs (AFET):
Chair : David McAllister (PPE, DE)
Vice-Chairs : Witold Jan Waszczykowski (ECR, PL), Urmas Paet (Renew Europe, EE), Sergei Stanishev (S&D, BG), Željana Zovko (PPE, HR)

Development (DEVE):
Chair : Bernd Lange (S&D, DE)
Vice-Chairs : Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana (Greens/EFA, DE), Norbert Neuser (S&D, DE), Chrysoula Zacharopoulou (Renew Europe, FR), Erik Marquardt (Greens/EFA, DE)

International Trade (INTA):
Chair : Bernd Lange (S&D, DE)
Vice-Chairs : Jan Zahradil (ECR, CZ), Iuliu Winkler (PPE, RO), Anna-Michelle Asimakopoulou (PPE, EL), Marie-Pierre Vedrenne (Renew Europe, FR)

Budgets (BUDG):
Chair : Johan Van Overtveldt (ECR, BE)
Vice-Chairs : Janusz Lewandoski (PPE, PL), Olivier Chastel (Renew Europe, BE), Margarida Marques (S&D, PT), Niclas Herbst (PPE, DE)

Budgetary Control (CONT):
Chair : Monika Hohlmeier (PPE, DE)
Vice-Chairs :Isabel García Muñoz (S&D, ES), Caterina Chinnici (S&D, IT), Gilles Boyer (Renew Europe, FR), Tomáš Zdechovský (PPE, CZ)

Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON):
Chair : Irene Tingali (S&D, IT)
Vice-Chairs : Luděk Niedermayer (PPE, CZ), Stéphanie Yon-Courtin (Renew Europe, FR), Michiel Hoogeveen (ECR, NL), José Gusmão (The Left, PT)

Employment and Social Affairs (EMPL) :
Chair : Dragoș Pîslaru (Renew Europe, RO)
Vice-Chairs : Elisabetta Gualmini (S&D, IT), Leila Chaibi (The Left, FR), Romana Tomc (S&D, SL), Katrin Langensiepen (Greens/EFA, DE)

Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI):
Chair : Pascal Canfin (Renew Europe, FR)
Vice-Chairs : Bas Eickhout (Greens/EFA, NL), Seb Dance (S&D, UK), Cristian-Silviu Bușoi (PPE, RO), Anja Hazekamp (The Left, NL)

Industry, Rechearch and Energy (ITRE) :
Chair : Cristian-Silviu Buşoi (PPE, RO)
Vice-Chairs :Zdzisław Krasnodębski (ECR, PL), Morten Petersen (Renew Europe, DK), Patrizia Toia (S&D, IT), Lina Galvez Muñoz (S&D, ES)

Internal Market and Consumer Protection (IMCO):
Chair : Anna Cavazzini (Greens/EFA, DE)
Vice-Chairs : Andrus Ansip (Renew Europe, EE), Maria Grapini (S&D, RO), Krzysztof Hetman (PPE, PL), Maria Manuel Leitão Marques (S&D, PT)

Transport and Tourism (TRAN) :
Chair : Karima Delli (Greens/EFA, FR)
Vice-Chairs :  István Ujhelyi (S&D, HU), Jens Gieseke (PPE, DE), Andriks Ameriks (S&D, LV), Jan-Christoph OETJEN (Renew Europe, DE)

Regional Development (REGI) :
Chair : Younous Omarjee (The Left, FR)
Vice-Chairs : Krzysztof Hetman (PPE, PL), Vlad-Marius Botoș (Renew Europe, RO), Nora Mebarek (S&D, FR), Isabel Benjumea (PPE, ES)

Agriculture (AGRI) :
Chair : Nobert Lins (PPE, DE)
Vice-Chairs : Benoît Biteau (Greens/EFA, FR), Daniel Buda (PPE, RO), Mazaly Aguilar (ECR, ES), Elsi Katainen (Renew Europe, FI)

Fisheries (PECH):
Chair : Pierre Karleskind (Renew Europe, FR)
Vice-Chairs : Peter van Dalen (PPE, NL), Søren Gade (Renew Europe, DK), Giuseppe Ferrandino (S&D, IT), Maria da Graça Carvalho (S&D, PT)

Culture and Education (CULT) :
Chair : Sabine Verheyen (PPE, DE)
Vice-Chairs : Romeo Franz (Greens/EFA, DE), Dace Melbārde (ECR, LV)

Legal Affairs (JURI) :
Chair : Adrián Vazuez Lazara (Renew Europe, ES)
Vice-Chairs : Sergey Lagodinsky (Greens/EFA, DE), Marion Walsmann (PPE, DE), Ibán Garcia del Blanco (S&D, ES), Raffaele Stancanelli (ECR, IT)

Civil Liberties (LIBE):
Chair : Juan Fernando López Aguilar (S&D, ES)
Vice-Chairs : Maite Pagazaurtundúa (Renew Europe, ES), Pietro Bartolo (S&D, IT), Emil Radev (PPE, BG)

Constitutional Affairs (AFCO):
Chair : Antonio Tajani (PPE, IT)
Vice-Chairs : Gabriele Bischoff (S&D, DE)

Women’s Rights and Gender Equality (FEMM) :
Chair : Robert Biedron (S&D, PL)
Vice-Chairs : Eugenia Rodríguez Palop (The Left, ES), Sylwia Spurek (Greens/EFA, PO), Elissavet Vozemberg-Vrionidi (PPE, EL), Radka Maxová (S&D, CZ)

Pétitions (PETI):
Chair : Dolors Montserrat (PPE, ES)
Vice-Chairs : Tatjana Ždanoka (Greens/EFA, LV), Yana Toom (Renew Europe, EE), Ryszard Czarnecki (ECR, PL), Cristina Maestre Martín de Almagro (S&D, ES)


Within the Foreign Affairs Committee there are two sub-committees:

Human Rights (DROI) :
Chair : Marie Arena (S&D, BE)
Vice-Chairs : Irina von Wiese (Renew Europe, UK), Hannah Neumann (Greens/EFA, DE),  Karoline Edtstadler (PPE, AT), Raphaël Glucksmann (S&D, FR)

Security and Defence (SEDE):
Chair : Nathalie Loiseau (Renew Europe, FR)
Vice-Chairs: Nikos Androulakis (S&D, EL), Kinga Gál (PPE, HU), Özlem Demirel (The Left, DE), Lukas Mandl (PPE, AT)