The European Parliament approves the new Commission

On Wednesday 22nd October the European Parliament approved the new Commission with 423 votes in support, 209 against and 67 abstentions out of the 699 present in the hemicycle. In the morning Jean-Claude Juncker, the President elect gave a speech to the European Parliament. He explained the changes made to the portfolio of certain commissioners and answered questions set by the MEPs. To provide Europe with new impetus Jean-Claude Juncker has the support of an experienced team that will implement a working programme focused on growth, employment, the environment and the place of the Union in the world.



Delegation Composition

The composition of the delegations reponsible for maintaining and developing the European Parliament’s international contacts was decided during meetings that lasted from 13th-16th October. Consult the list of MEPs who will be taking part in these delegations

Commissioners’ Hearings

From 29th September to 20th October the 27 Commissioners designate were interviewed by the competent Parliamentary committees. Consult the hearings of each commissioner

Parliament elects Jean-Claude Juncker as Commission President

Parliament elects Jean-Claude Juncker as Commission President on July 15th 2014 in a secret ballot. 422 members voted in favour, 250 against, 47 abstained. The total number of votes cast was 729, 10 of which were non valid. The minimum number of votes required was 376. The new European Commission will take office on November 1st 2014 for a five year term. For the first time in the history of the European Union, the European Parliament elected – and not merely approved – the President of the European Commission following a proposal by the European Council, according to the rules laid down in the Lisbon Treaty (December 2009).

Read more

Composition of the European Parliament
(8th Legislature: 2014-2019)

Interactive map

Click on the country of your choice to consult the corresponding information sheet.

What is the European Parliament?

The European Parliament is an institution of the European Union, which is dual in nature:

> It is the only institution whose members are elected by direct universal suffrage for a 5-year term in office.

> It is the only institution whose powers have been extended as the treaties have been signed.

The European campaign on Twitter