Inaugural Session of the New European Parliament

The 9th legislature of the European Parliament will be starting in Strasbourg on 2nd July. After the Ode to Joy, the 751 MEPs will prepare the election of the President of the Parliament, then that of the Vice-Presidents, planned for 3rd July. On 3rd July MEPs will adopt a decision regarding the number of members of the permanent parliamentary committees. On 4th July the questeurs will be elected prior to the debate with the Commission and the European Council regarding the results of the European Council on 20th and 21st June.