Dacian Ciolos elected president of the Renew Europe Group

The liberals and centrists group at the European Parliament, formerly the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE), renamed Renew Europe, elected Dacian Ciolos as their leader on 19th June. A former European commissioner and former Prime Minister of Romania, he won 65 votes from the group’s 108 MEPs. The group’s vice-presidents are Iskra Mihaylova (Bulgaria), Katalin Cseh (Hungary), Frédérique Ries (Belgium), Morten Lokkegaard (Denmark), Luis Garicano (Spain) and Dominique Riquet (France).